2021-September-22 08:50
2021-August-2  15:17

Senior MP: Officials of 73 Countries to Partake in Inauguration Ceremony of Iran’s New President

TEHRAN (FNA)- Over 115 officials from 73 world states have declared preparedness to attend the inaugural of Iran’s new President Seyed Ebrahim Rayeesi, Rapporteur of the parliament’s Presiding Board Seyed Nezameddin Mousavi said on Monday.

"Based on the information available so far, 115 officials from 73 countries have announced their readiness to attend the inauguration ceremony; among these officials, 10 heads of state, 20 speakers of parliament, 11 foreign ministers, 10 other ministers from different countries, as well as special envoys and vice-speakers of parliaments, commission chairpersons and parliamentary delegations will attend the ceremony,” Mousavi told reporters in a press conference in Tehran.

"Also, the heads and officials of 11 international and regional organizations, representative of the UN Secretary-General, head of OPEC and officials from IPU, the European Union, Eurasia, Inter-Parliamentary Union of Islamic and Asian countries, ECO, SICA and D8 have declared their participation in the ceremony,” he added.

Mousavi said that representatives and prominent figures of different religions of the world have sent positive response to Iran's invitation and will take part in Rayeesi's inaugural, adding that the inauguration ceremony will be held under tight COVID-19 health protocols.

Iran’s President-elect Ebrahim Rayeesi’s inauguration ceremony is due to be held on Thursday (August 5) in the presence of tens of domestic officials and foreign guests from dozens of world states.

“The inauguration ceremony of the president-elect will be held at 05:00 p.m. local time (1230 GMT) on Thursday, August 5, based on what was decided today in a closed-door meeting,” Mohammad Ali Mohseni Bandpei, a senior legislator, said on Wednesday.

He also noted that the Iranian legislature will not convene next week.

Speaking on the sidelines of Wednesday’s parliamentary session, lawmaker Mohsen Dehnavi also said that because of the COVID-19 epidemic, there are restrictions in the number of the Iranian and foreign guests who have been invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

Once the list of Rayeesi’s cabinet is submitted to the parliament, specialized commissions will on August 7 start reviewing the qualifications of the proposed ministers, a process that will most likely take a week, Dehnavi said. The following week, the MPs will organize a vote of confidence in the cabinet.

Rayeesi was elected Iran’s eighth president after he garnered almost 62 percent of the votes in the June 18 election with a turnout of 48.8 percent. He will succeed President Hassan Rouhani, who has served two four-year terms in office.