2021-October-24 15:19
2021-September-18  12:50

Spokesman: Iran to Further Broaden Ties with Neighbors after SCO Membership

TEHRAN (FNA)- Iranian Foreign Ministry Spokesman Saeed Khatibzadeh said that his country’s membership in the Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) is a big step towards further enhancement of relations with the neighboring states.

"Warmly welcome the decision of the SCO to approve Iran's full membership," Khatibzadeh wrote on his twitter page on Friday.

"A major step toward enhanced ties with neighbors and an important impetus for our Asia-centered foreign policy," he added.

"We'll continue our efforts to build on indigenous initiatives for the good of the region," Khatibzadeh underlined.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization officially admitted Iran as a new member of the Eurasian political, economic, and security alliance at its 21st summit in Dushanbe on Friday.

"Perfectly pleased to announce that the permanent membership document of the Islamic Republic of Iran was approved by the leaders of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization in Dushanbe in the presence of our esteemed President," Iranian Foreign Minister Hossein Amir Abdollahian tweeted on Friday.

"This strategic membership has an important impact on the process of comprehensive cooperation between Iran in line with the policy of neighborhood with and pivot to Asia," he added.

The 21st edition of Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) kicked off in Dushanbe, capital of Tajikistan on Friday.

The SCO consists of nine permanent member states, including Iran, India, Kazakhstan, China, Kirgizstan, Pakistan, Russia and Uzbekistan. Three states of Afghanistan, Belarus, and Mongolia are still observer members and six countries of Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkey, and Sri Lanka are dialogue partners.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization is an effective regional and intra-state organization, which was established by leaders of China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan in 2001.