2021-October-23 01:01
2021-September-18  21:01

President Rayeesi: Iran, Turkmenistan Enjoy Good Capacities to Expand Ties

TEHRAN (FNA)- Iranian President Seyed Ebrahim Rayeesi underlined that Tehran and Ashgabat have the needed capacities and potentials to broaden mutual cooperation.

President Rayeesi made the remarks in a meeting with his Turkmen counterpart  Gurbanguly Berdimuhamedow on the sidelines of Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) Summit in Dushanbe, Tajikistan.

He reiterated that regular meetings of the Joint Economic Cooperation Commission could be an effective stimulus for developing relations between Iran and Turkmenistan.

The Turkmen president, for his part, said that activating transit capacities between Iran and Turkmenistan will play a significant role in improving the level of economic and trade interactions between the two countries.

During the meeting, the two presidents also agreed to resolve the gas issue.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization (SCO) officially admitted Iran as a new member of the Eurasian political, economic, and security alliance at its 21st summit in Dushanbe, Tajikistan, on Friday.

"Perfectly pleased to announce that the permanent membership document of the Islamic Republic of Iran was approved by the leaders of the Shanghai Cooperation Organization in Dushanbe in the presence of our esteemed President," Iranian Foreign Minister Hossein Amir Abdollahian tweeted Friday.

"This strategic membership has an important impact on the process of comprehensive cooperation between Iran in line with the policy of neighborhood with and pivot to Asia," he added.

The 21st edition of SCO kicked off in Dushanbe, capital of Tajikistan on Friday.

The SCO consists of nine permanent member states, including Iran, India, Kazakhstan, China, Kirgizstan, Pakistan, Russia and Uzbekistan. Three states of Afghanistan, Belarus, and Mongolia are still observer members and six countries of Azerbaijan, Armenia, Cambodia, Nepal, Turkeyو and Sri Lanka are dialogue partners.

The Shanghai Cooperation Organization is an effective regional and intra-state organization, which was established by leaders of China, Russia, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan and Uzbekistan in 2001.